Home Board of Governors Nomination Procedures Former Inductees Current Inductees Acknowledgement of Sponsorship Upcoming Events



    The Tennessee Teachers Hall of Fame, sponsored by Middle Tennessee State University is a way for the education profession to honor those who have made exemplary contributions to the field.  The Hall of Fame celebrates educators who have made a difference in the lives of their students, in their communities, and in their profession.

The Board of Governors comprises representatives of major professional organizations across the state. These include the Tennessee Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, The Tennessee Education Association, The Tennessee Organization of School Superintendents, the Tennessee Parent Teacher Association, The Tennessee School Boards Association, The Tennessee State Board of Education, and the Tennessee State Department of Education.  In addition, representatives of MTSU sit on the Board of Governors.  The Dean of MTSU’s College of Education and Behavioral Science is responsible for planning, coordinating, convening, and conducting meetings of the Board.

Dr. Sidney McPhee is currently serving as President of Middle Tennessee State University.  His leadership throughout the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) System is extensive.  He is an outstanding academician with strong credentials and a solid track record of success over a long and distinguished career in public education.  Under his administration, the training and education of teachers and school personnel remains central to the mission of the university.            

As president of Middle Tennessee State University, Dr. McPhee is dedicated and committed to providing the leadership and support in preparing the best educators possible for the citizens of our great state.  He believes that an effective leader must be people-centered and have a clear vision that is articulated to the university constituencies.  His guiding philosophy is that the most valuable resources of our university are its students, faculty, staff, alumni, and supporters.  Celebrating the exemplary contributors of classroom teachers who have made a significant difference to students and the profession is consistent with the tradition of excellence at Middle Tennessee State University.

     As the eighth president of Middle Tennessee State University, Dr. James E. Walker brought a breadth of experience to this institution when he took office in 1991.  He was a public school teacher early in his career.  It was under his leadership and initiative that the Tennessee Teachers Hall of Fame was established.  The College of Education and Behavioral Science sponsors the annual event.  

“The sole purpose of the Tennessee Teachers Hall of Fame is to honor and recognize P-12 teachers throughout the state who have made a difference in the lives of their students, communities and professions;  Walker said in describing the progress, the first of its kind in Tennessee.  “Teachers often make contributions in their field that go unnoticed in the world beyond the classroom.  They go that extra mile to inspire their students.  The Tennessee Teachers Hall of Fame allows us to identify exemplary teachers across the state and to recognize and celebrate their successes.”




Prepared by Lu Long  and Kathy Patten

Middle Tennessee State University

College of Education and Behavioral Science

Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Please contact llong@mtsu.edu or kpatten@mtsu.edu

Last updated April 09, 2008