Murfreesboro Branch






AAUW National
AAUW Tennessee
Members Only
Membership Advantages
MTSU Scholarship
E-student Affiliate Membership



Join AAUW Murfreesboro Chapter mailing list

Subscribe to aauwmurfreesboro



MTSU Scholarship


 The Ruth Houston Memorial Scholarship


The Murfreesboro Branch of the American Association of University Women will award a scholarship in the amount of $1,000 each semester—Fall 2012 and Spring 2013—to an MTSU undergraduate student who best demonstrates academic promise and financial need.  Applicants will also be evaluated on how well they embody the mission of AAUW and how well they will reflect on AAUW of Murfreesboro.

 To be eligible for consideration, applicants must have successfully completed their freshman year, be currently enrolled at MTSU, and have a cumulative GPA of at least 2.5.  Returning adult students, in particular, are encouraged to apply.  The scholarship is renewable each semester as long as full-time status and a 2.5 GPA are maintained.

To apply, submit three (3) copies of the completed application. Please ask each of your two required references to provide three copies of his/her letter to you. Then assemble each of the three complete application packages in the following order:

  • Completed Cover Page (click here to download this form)

  • Essay: No more than 1,000 words describing: (1) the applicant’s professional goals and the manner in which the scholarship will contribute to the applicant’s success, and (2) the applicant’s financial need. The essay should be type-written or computer-generated.

  • Transcript (can be unofficial transcript(s); must show successful completion of at least two semesters of college)

  • Letter of Reference

  • Letter of Reference

  •  Applications are due by 4:30 pm on Monday, April 2, 2012.  They should be submitted to the scholarship committee chair:

    Dr. Samantha E. Cantrell
    Office of Research Services
    Box 124
    Middle Tennessee State University
    Murfreesboro, TN 37132 

    To download this year’s announcement flyer, please click here

    2012 Scholarship Announcement Flyer (PDF)

    Questions may be directed to Dr. Cantrell at or 615-494-8751.


Recent Ruth Houston Memorial Scholarship Recipients


Kamryn Warren 2009


Tara Nevill 2008


Rose Carter 2007





Web Masters: /
Branch President:
Communications Officer:
Contact Information: